Mystery/Books/Events

 

You can find all of our mystery related articles, short stories, and reviews in our Mystery category! You can also find more in our mystery section on Kings River Life.

And all book reviews of any genre in our book category!

If you enjoy mysteries, be sure to check out our mystery podcast which features mystery short stories and first chapters read by local actors. And you can find a listing for other mystery podcasts here.

Mystery authors and bookstores can submit their mystery booksignings and events to be listed here by emailing us at krlmagazine@gmail[dot]com (be sure to change [dot] into a period)

FOR THE TIME BEING WE WILL BE SHARING AUTHOR/MYSTERY ONLINE EVENTS HERE ALONG WITH A FEW SAFE IN PERSON EVENTS:

Murder on the Beach Online Events

https://murderonthebeach.com/upcoming-events-2/  

Poisoned Pen Bookstore Online Events

https://poisonedpen.com/

 Book Carnival online events: www.annesbookcarnival.com/events 

Check out Rogue Reads from Rogue Women Writers-more info found on their website.be some fun giveaway

Daryl Wood Gerber is hosting live chats on Facebook one Saturday a month. Like her Facebook page to make sure you don't miss them.


Check out virtual and in person book events at Mysterious Galaxy here: https://www.mystgalaxy.com/upcoming-events


Book Passage Streaming Author Events-bookpassage.extendedsession.com


Virtual book events at Poisoned Pen Bookstore can be found on Facebook.


Mystery Ink Bookstore is now online through Amazon!


Murder on the Beach Mystery Bookstore

Events at Murder on the Beach Mystery Bookstore
TBA

Joanne Sinchuk
Murder on the Beach Mystery Bookstore
104 West Atlantic Avenue
Delray Beach, FL 33444
Phone: 561-279-7790
murdermb@gate.net
murderonthebeach.com
Summer Hours: Mon - Wed 10 - 6, Thu - Sat 10-5

Events at Murder on the Beach Mystery Bookstore can be found on their website.


MYSTERY INK BOOKSTORE 
new suite number, same address 
8907 Warner Avenue, #150 – limited time hours: 
Thursday & Friday 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 to 1:00 p.m. 
 
Free Online Author Events – For additional information on events, please go to mysteryink.com 
 

MYSTERY INK IS NOW SELLING BOOKS THROUGH BOOKSHOP
please use this link: https://bookshop.org/shop/mysteryink

Virtual Author Events- For additional information, please go to mysteryink.com

MYSTERY INK IS NOW SELLING BOOKS THROUGH BOOKSHOP 

please use this link:  https://bookshop.org/shop/mysteryink

___________________________________________________________________________________


 Register here: https://www.eventbrite.com/o/sisters-in-crime-northern-california-chapter-18747344175

These days we find many subcategories of crime / mystery fiction. Counting hybrids and crossovers, there seem to be more every day.

Understanding your genre(s) is important for identifying and relating to your readers as you craft each book to both meet certain expectations for that genre and also provide something fresh and new.

In this panel, we will discuss the characteristics of several of the most common crime genres, effective use of tropes and literary devices, how we try to add exciting and unique content ... and more.

Susan Alice Bickford: Moderator, Thriller and Suspense

Michele Drier: Traditional Mystery / Amateur Sleuth and Paranormal

Kelly Stanley: Historical and Noir

T.E. MacArthur: Diesel Punk, Alternate History, and Paranormal Suspense

Faye Snowden: Mystery / Police Procedural and Gothic

Daisy Bateman: Cozy Mystery

You will receive the Zoom link after you register. Look for it in your confirmation email.

 Mystery Book events for The Forty Knots Burn by Lynn Hess:

Southeastern Writers Association Conference June10-14 2022 Epworth by The Sea/ Saint. Simons Island, GA bookstore.
Tucker Brewery Book Signing, June 26, 2022, 4-6 p.m.
Monroe Flower Festival at the Walton County Arts Center, Monroe, GA July 18, 2002 book signing 9-4 p.m.
Hometown Novel Nights Program, Authors' Panel,  "Hot Summer Reads" Newnan Carnegie Library, Newnan, GA July 21, 2022 at 6:30 p.m.
 
 
Maple Leaf Mystery
May 24 - 28, 2022 ONLINE
Featuring interviews with Ian Rankin, Maureen Jennings, Vicki Delaney (Eva Gates), Rick Mofina and Iona Whishaw, plus a host of panels.

When Words Collide
August 12 - 14, 2022 ONLINE
Offering events covering a range of genres, With festival guests Terry Brooks, Susanna Kearsley. Hank Philippi Ryan, and Edward Willett.

 Please join us as Dianne Freeman Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Launch Party on Monday, June 27th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book A Bride's Guide to Marriage and Murder, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events

Please join us as Cate Conte Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Launch Party on Tuesday, June 28th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book Gone But Not Furgotten, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events 
Please join us as Molly MacRae Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Launch Party on Thursday, June 30th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her book Argyles and Arsenic, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events


Click here for more information: 
https://www.facebook.com/events/558131795976508

 

MYSTERY IN THE MIDLANDS 

A Virtual Event Featuring 10 Fabulous Authors 

 

            Question: Where do you have the opportunity to spend 4 and ½ hours with award- winning mystery and suspense novelists all for the cost of a single e-book or paperback? 

 

            Answer: Mystery in the Midlands (hosted by Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime and Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers of America), which began as a mid-summer conference in “Famously Hot” Columbia, S.C. For the third year, this is a virtual event through Crowdcast. 

 

            Date: Saturday, July 16, 2022 

 

            Cost: $8 (to defray event costs) 

 

            Link to register: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/mystery-in-the-midlands-3/register 

 

            If you are not able to attend virtually on the day of the event, by registering, you can access the recorded panels at your leisure. 

 

Here’s the schedule: 

 

Raise the Temperature with a Warm Welcome 

10:30-10:45 am ET/9:30-9:45 am CT/8:30-8:45 am MT/7:30-7:45 am PT 

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC 

 

Shorts that Pack Heat 

11:00-11:45 am ET/10:00-10:45 am CT/9:00-9:45 am MT/8:00-8:45 am PT 

Alan Orloff, Shawn Reilly Simmons, and Joseph S. Walker 

 

Sizzling Keynote 

12:00-12:45 pm ET/11:00-11:45 am CT/10:00-10:45 am MT/9:00-9:45 am PT 

David Heska Wanbli Weiden interviewed by Hank Phillippi Ryan 

 

Served Piping Hot: Cozies with Recipes 

1:00-1:45 pm ET/12:00-12:45 pm CT/11:00-11:45 am MT/10:00-10:45 am PT 

Daryl Wood Gerber, Raquel V. Reyes, and Abby L. Vandiver 

   

Sweltering Settings and Suspense 

2:00-2:45 pm ET/1:00-1:45 pm CT/12:00-12:45 pm MT/11:00-11:45 am PT 

Hallie Ephron, John Hart, and Hank Phillippi Ryan 

  

Final Comments Before Cooling Off in the Pool 

3:00-3:15 pm ET/2:00-2:15 pm CT/1:00-1:15 pm MT/12:00-12:15 pm PT 

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC 

  

            What better way to beat the June heat than to spend the time in a lovely air-conditioned room listening to great authors talk about writing? Bring your beverage of choice and join us!

 

Please join us as Julia Buckley writing as Veronica Bond Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Friday, July 1st at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest books Death in Castle Dark and Castle Deadly, Castle Deep, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events


 Please join us as Laura Bradford Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Tuesday, July 5th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book A Perilous Pal, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events 

 
 Please join us as Carole Lynn Jones Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Wednesday, July 6th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book This New Job's Murder, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events

 
Please join us as Michelle Hillen Klump Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Monday, July 11th at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book A Dash of Death, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events

Please join us as Jamie Rutland Gillespie Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Wednesday, July 13th at 3pm EST.
She will be discussing her debut book Inheriting Murder, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events 

 
Please join us as Debra Goldstein Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Thursday, July 14th at 8pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book Five Belles Too Many, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events

 Please join us as Amber Royer Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Friday, July 15th at 6pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book Shot in the 80% Dark giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events 

Please join us as Leslie Budewitz Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Tuesday, July 19th at 8pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book Peppermint Barked, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events 

 
Please join us as Deborah Blake Takes Over the Cozy Mystery Party on Thursday, July 21st at 7pm EST.
She will be discussing her latest book Claws for Suspicion, along with giveaways.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryparty/events